To hell with journaling

Lets-write-something-writing-4545938-1024-768April 4, 2013 2:38 pm

“Journal” she says. My friends tell me that too. “Journal your prayers” says one friend; “journal your logical and illogical thinking” says my therapist, “journal your emotions and thoughts” says another friend.

I have journaled all my life only to have my husband read them all privately in our home and then to use it against me to justify his indiscretions. A man he is not – a boy he is! As I ponder my situation daily, I realize how much a boy he still is – unwilling to communicate, unwilling to face his wrongdoings – yielding to girls half his age – yes, my husband is still a child trying to win the attention of his parents.

So journal what? My inability to keep a grasp on my life? my inability to express myself? I want to journal praise for how far I’ve come and to God for getting me here. Without him, I would be six-feet under ground so to speak and my children would be motherless. As for journaling all the other suggestions, not sure I want to devote that much time to it. It’s too hard to reread since I like to reread what I write in order to reflect. I like to find lessons, and in the last four years, I’ve discovered nothing about my life other than the fact that I stayed in this relationship too long.

In journaling, I have discovered that my life is not worth the time to write anymore. Not sure if this is pessimism speaking since I teach writing to other students. One day I will get back to journaling, but not right now.

About private writer

gone through some changes, entering maturity and realizing that humanity means something different to everyone
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

What did you think?